CUB is the first bank in Taiwan to become a signatory to the Equator Principles, and adopted the Principles for Responsible Banking (PRB) on its own initiative, taking concrete actions to fulfill its corporate social responsibility as a financial institution. Cathay is the leading brand in green finance in the Asia Pacific, and fully utilizes its core competencies to respond to global climate risk, working together with the industrial sector and customers in developing green energy and creating a sustainable homeland.

(Click on the picture to zoom in) 

Themed Investing/Lending

●Low-Carbon Investing / Lending: Cathay utilized its experience from participating in the GIC Low Carbon Investment Registry (LCI Registry) and established the Group's definition of the low carbon industry in 2017, including energy (excluding nuclear power and fossil fuel), architecture, waste recycling, transportation, (high efficiency) industry, and finance (e.g. green bonds). Total low carbon investing/lending amount reached NT$165.2 billion in 2019.

●Infrastructure Investing / Lending: Cathay established the scope of infrastructure after referencing government regulations in 2017, including: transportation, public facilities, social housing, and environmental remediation facilities. Total infrastructure investing/lending amount reached NT$658.6 billion in 2019.

 

Solar Power Financing

●CUB has supported Taiwan’s move to renewable energy since as early as 2011 when CUB began to finance solar power projects across the island.

●CUB has formally implemented the lending management mechanism of the EPs, established the first project finance specialized team in the domestic financial industry, and built a dedicated power plant evaluation model for financing assessment since 2015.

●In 2019, CUB has financed 118 solar sites in Taiwan with a total installed capacity of 39,567.07 kW. As of the end of 2019, CUB has provided to over 2,000 sites with a total of 517MW solar PV power capacity, reducing CO2 emissions for more than 300 thousand metric tons, which is roughly 780 times the carbon absorption of Da'an Forest Park.

 

Note 1: Taiwan Power Company – Each 1,000 kW of installed capacity of solar panels in Taiwan on average generated 1,101 kWh in 2019; according to the household electricity consumption volume announced by Taiwan Power Company in 2018, the average monthly electricity consumption per household is 292 kWh.

Note 2: According to the electricity emission factor announced by the Bureau of Energy in 2018, approximately 0.533 kg of CO2 is emitted per kWh. Calculated based on Bureau of Energy, MOEA, data which indicates that Da’an Forest Park absorbed 389 metric tons of CO2 in 2011.

 

Offshore Wind Farm Financing

●Formosa I Offshore Wind Project (the first offshore wind-power financing project in Taiwan): CUB served as the Mandated Lead Arranger for the Phase I syndicated loan and continued to participate in the Phase II financing (totaling 22 turbines). This offshore wind farm has a total installed capacity of 128MW and is expected to generate enough electricity for 380,000 households each year.

●Yunlin Offshore Wind Power Project: CUB acted as the Mandated Lead Arranger, Documentation Bank, LC Issuing Bank, Onshore Security Agent, Offshore Commercial Facility Agent and Guarantee Facilities Agent for the syndicated loan in 2019. The project has a total of 80 wind turbines and is the largest offshore wind farm in the Asia Pacific to date.

●The first green loan revolving facility in Taiwan Market: CUB together with two other banks secured the mandate with Ørsted and co-arranged a 5-year NT$25 billion green loan revolving facility in 2019 to provide capital for the “Greater Changhua Offshore Wind Power Project.”

●Formosa II Offshore Wind Power Project: CUB served as Guarantee Facilities Agent, actively participates in the offshore wind transaction in different roles and methods, contributing to Taiwan’s environmental protection and sustainable development.

●As of the end of 2019, CUB accumulated total installed capacity for offshore wind is 768MW, reducing CO2 emissions by approximately 1.30 million metric tons, which is roughly 3,500 times the carbon absorption of Da'an Forest Park.

 

Note : According to operational data from 2 offshore wind turbines that have begun commercial operation, the average capacity factor from May to December 2017 was 23%, 28%, 11%, 34%, 14%, 66%, 62%, and 68%, respectively. The average capacity factor of 38% is used, and power generation is calculated using the formula “actual power generation = installed capacity x capacity factor” (https://www.moea.gov.tw/mns/populace/news/News.aspx?kind=1&menu_id=40&news_id=80260).

 

Renewable Energy Contractors' & Erection All Risks Insurance

●Cathay Century provides construction insurance products suitable for the green energy industry's risks, and has been undertaking construction insurance for hydroelectric power plants and solar power generation equipment since 2010.

●Offshore wind farms entail high construction risks due to natural disasters and technical challenges. Cathay Century became the first property insurance company in Taiwan to utilize its risk assessment and loss prevention expertise to provide offshore wind turbine insurance for the CUB offshore wind power syndicated loan in 2016.

●Cathay Century provided insurance for hydroelectric power plants, solar power plants, and offshore wind farms and equipment in the amount of NT$91.32 billion in 2019.


Green Vehicle Insurance

●Cathay Century launched the first green vehicle insurance in Taiwan in 2013, and has a cumulative premium income of 493.16 million as of the end of 2019. The insurance was offered in coordination with government initiatives to support the green energy industry, and also aids Taiwan's transportation tool transition by encouraging drivers to support environmentally-friendly vehicles.

 

Bicycle Insurance

●Cathay Century began offering bicycle insurance in 2016, and had sold 1,413 policies as of the end of 2019 with cumulative insured amount reaching NT$8.67 million.

●Cathay Century offered the first Public Bicycle Accident Insurance and Public Bicycle Third-Party Liability Insurance in Taiwan in 2018. As of the end of 2019, Kaohsiung City, Tainan City, Taipei City, New Taipei City, Taoyuan City, Miaoli County, and Pingtung County were covered by Public Bicycle Accident Insurance, providing coverage to over 17.24 million people. The insurance eliminates the risk of public bicycle riders not having any insurance coverage.


Environmentally Friendly and Green Energy-Saving Enterprise IPO Guidance

●Cathay Securities actively assists environmentally friendly and green energy-saving enterprises with raising capital. Cathay Securities assisted Ever-Clear Environmental Eng. Corp., a major industrial wastewater treatment company in Taiwan, with its successful IPO in 2019, which raised NT$115 million in capital.

●The PM Group, which Cathay Securities is currently assisting, has also initiated an IPO plan. The PM Group is an iconic solar power company and the leading solar power EPC (Engineering, Procurement, Construction) company in Taiwan. The PM Group plans to become an emerging stock in 2020 and formally enter the capital market.

Cathay Securities completes the contract signing ceremony with the PM Group. Chairperson Shun-Yu Chuang of Cathay Securities is on the left and Chairperson Tsung-Jung Tsai of the PM Group is on the right.

 

Investing in Promising Environmentally Friendly Startups

●Cathay Venture continues to invest in green environmentally-friendly enterprises that are not yet publicly traded. As of the end of 2019, Cathay Venture's investment position in environmentally friendly businesses is nearly NT$352 million.


Feedback

Please let us know your precious opinions.

Contact US

Video

Happiness is how you think of what you have.

More

News Center

For more information, please visit our News Center.

More

國泰世華銀行為台灣首家簽署赤道原則,並自願遵循責任銀行原則(PRB)之銀行,以實際行動落實金融業的企業社會責任。國泰作為亞太地區綠色金融領導品牌,善用核心職能回應全球氣候風險,攜手產業界與客戶拓展綠色能源發展,打造永續家園。

 

主題性投資/放貸

●低碳投資/放貸:國泰依據參與GIC低碳投資登入平台之經驗,2017年訂定集團低碳產業定義,包括:能源(不含核能、化石燃料)、建築、廢棄物回收、交通、產業(高效能)、金融(如綠色債券)。2019年低碳投資/ 放貸總金額達新台幣1,652億元。

●基礎建設投資/放貸:2017年國泰參考政府相關規範,訂定基礎建設範疇,包括:交通、公用設施、社會住宅、環境整治設施等。2019年基礎建設投資/放貸總金額達新台幣6,586億元。

 

太陽能電站融資

國泰世華銀行秉持「綠色金融引領,共創永續未來」的精神,自2011年起整合行內資源、設立研究團隊,建立專屬電廠評估模式,作為融資評估準則,至今已成為國內最大的太陽能電站融資銀行之一,更於2018年榮獲「菁業獎─最佳綠色專案融資獎」及「優良太陽光電系統光鐸獎─優良金融服務獎」肯定。

截至2018年底, 國泰世華銀行在國內外已核貸約1,900座太陽能發電站,總裝置容量達477MW,每年可減碳29.7萬公噸,減碳量約當於763座大安森林公園面積。

國泰世華銀行於2016年完成台灣第一個適用赤道原則以及專案融資精神之大型屋頂型太陽能電廠,繼而在2017年完成台灣第一個以有限追索權專案融資且遵循赤道原則之大型地面型太陽能電廠案,並於2018年5月完成簽約。

●2011年起承作光電融資,為台灣最早投入太陽能電站融資的先驅銀行。

●2015年正式導入赤道原則的貸放管理機制,成立國內金融業首個專案融資團隊,建構專屬電廠的模型作為融資評估依據。

●2019年度在國內核貸118座太陽能電站,總裝置容量達39,567.07KW。截至2019年底,在國內外已核貸超過2,000座太陽能電站,累計總裝置容量達517MW,每年可減碳超過30萬公噸,等同近780座大安森林公園。

 

註1: 台灣電力公司─2019年台灣地區太陽能備平均每一千瓦裝置容量發電約1,101度;依台電公布之2018年家庭用電量:每戶家庭每月平均用電量約為292度。

註2: 依能源局公佈之2018年電力排放係數:每度電約排放0.533公斤的CO2。依經濟部能源局2011年之換算標準,1座大安森林公園1年CO2之吸收量為389公噸計算。

 

離岸風電融資

 

●「海洋風力發電案」(我國首件離岸風電專案融資案):於2016年擔任案件之主辦行,並持續參與該案第二階段22座風機聯貸籌組,總裝置容量達128MW,每年預計可產生38萬戶家庭用電量。

●「允能離岸風電案」:於2019年擔任案件之主辦行、議約行、開狀行、擔保品管理行、境外額度管理行及保證額度管理行,此案共80座風機為亞太地區目前規模最大之離岸風場。

●首創台灣銀行界綠色循環信用額度:2019年共同主辦由沃旭能源發起之5年期、新台幣250億元循環信用額度,為「大彰化離岸風電計畫」提供資金。

●「海能離岸風電案」:本行於擔任保證函轉開行,積極參與市場上各項開發案,以不同角色與方式積極配合政策,為台灣的環境保護與永續發展努力。

●截至2019年,國泰世華銀行參與之離岸風電總裝置容量達768MW,每年可減碳超過130萬公噸,相當於3,500座大安森林公園。

 

註:根據目前已商轉2架離岸示範機組之運轉資料,106年5~12月間平均容量因數分別為23%、28%、11%、34%、14%、66%、62%及68%,取其平均38%計算容量因子,並依「實際發電量=裝置容量x容量因子」公式計算發電量(https://www.moea.gov.tw/mns/populace/news/News.aspx?kind=1&menu_id=40&news_id=80260)。

國泰世華銀行協助於上緯子公司海洋風電公司苗栗外海建置2 部離岸示範風電機組

 

再生能源工程保險

●國泰產險針對綠能產業提供適合工程保險商品,自2010年起承保水力發電電廠及太陽光電發電設備建造階段之工程險。

●因天災與技術挑戰,離岸風電裝置建置風險高,國泰產險發揮風險評估及損害防阻專業,2016年配合國泰世華銀行離岸風力發電聯貸案,承接離岸風電工程保險業務,成為國內首家提供離岸風機保險保障之產險公司。

●2019年針對水力、太陽能、離岸風電電廠及設備保險,共承保新台幣913.2億元。


綠能環保車險

國泰產險2013年推出「綠能環保車險」,為國內首張綠能概念商品,至2019年底,累計簽單保費達49,316萬元。在配合政府扶持綠能產業的原則下,同時鼓勵支持環保的汽車駕駛人,幫助台灣交通工具轉型。

 

自行車保險

●國泰產險2016年推出自行車保險,至2019年底承保件數達1,413件,累計承保金額達新台幣867萬元。

國泰產險2018年開發全台首張「公共自行車傷害險」及「公共自行車第三人責任險」保單,累計至2019年底,「公共自行車傷害險」已有高雄、台南、台北、新北、桃園、苗栗、屏東及新竹等八縣市投保,為超過1,724萬人次提供保障,彌補公共自行車族無保險保障的風險缺口。


輔導環保及綠色節能企業籌資

國泰綜合證券積極輔導環保及綠色節能企業籌資,2019年協助國內工業廢水處理大廠萬年清環境工程順利IPO掛牌,募集資金新台幣1.15億元。

國泰綜合證券輔導中的開陽集團也展開IPO計畫,開陽集團為國內太陽能光電指標性企業,為全台太陽能工程總包公司(Engineering, Procurement, Construction, EPC)領導廠商,預計2020年登錄興櫃,正式邁向資本市場之路。

 

 

國泰綜合證券與開陽集團完成輔導簽約儀式
左為國泰綜合證券莊順裕董事長,右為開陽集團蔡宗融董事長

 

投資環保初創企業

國泰創投持續挹注資金於未上市上櫃的綠色環保企業,截至2019年底止,國泰創投投資部位中可歸屬為綠色環保產業者達新台幣3.52億元。

 


參與回饋

對國泰金控有什麼期待嗎?歡迎將您寶貴的意見告訴我們!

聯絡我們

影片

幸福不在於你擁有什麼,而在於你怎麼看待所擁有的。

了解更多

新聞中心

請至國泰金控新聞中心,了解更多訊息。

了解更多
  • 為提供您最佳個人化且即時的服務,本網站透過使用Cookies記錄與存取您的瀏覽使用訊息。當您使用本網站,即表示您同意Cookies技術支援。(更多資訊請參閱隱私權保護政策,如需修改Cookie設定請參閱第四點)。