The responsible investment and lending is a stabilizing force with positive impact on society, and it is also one of the core competencies to increase long-term value for the assets. Cathay has established responsible investment/lending policies and management procedures and actively developed its capacity for ESG analysis to assist investment and lending decisions. Cathay aims to use ESG to provide broader and more profound perspectives for decision-making.

Establish a leading responsible/lending team in Taiwan

Cathay FHC was the first Taiwanese financial institution establishing the Responsible Investment Working Group in 2014. The Working Group is led by the Chief Investment Officer of the Cathay FHC and comprises 7 members of senior executives from the investment teams of Cathay's subsidiaries. The working group is responsible for supervising Cathay FHC's responsible investment strategies, setting up policies, and reviewing implementation performance.

Cathay Life and Cathay SITE have also respectively established their Responsible Investment Task Force which comprises the front/mid/back-offices of the investment team. The task force continuously learns the best international practices, and exchanges ideas with global peers on trends, methodologies and practices in order to establish action plans to refine and improve the ESG integration process. As of the end of 2019, the task force of Cathay Life and Cathay SITE had around 40 and 11 members, in which 2 and 1 members are dedicated to responsible investment.

CUB established the Sustainable Finance Loan Management Section in 2016, which is responsible for reviewing EPs-related cases, and has renamed it as the Sustainable Finance Section in 2017. The Section is now the dedicated unit in charge of promoting corporate sustainability and ESG risks management within the bank.

Delivering ESG training to strengthen capability of ESG risks management

Cathay has actively learned international responsible investment practices from external industrial, governmental and academic institutions. We invited international experts to Taiwan for ESG analysis training since integrating the ESG databases and establishing the investment/leaning task forces in 2018. A total of 656 employees from Cathay FHC, Cathay Life, CUB, Cathay SITE, and Cathay Century participated in the training courses as well as the external conferences; the average training hours per participant was 1.4 hour in 2019. Besides, training lessons and materials of EPs project financing regulations and ESG Regulations for Corporate Loans are also available and updated on an ad-hoc basis.

Provide investment teams the ESG analysis tools to build comprehensive ESG Investment environment

ESG data is one of the basis for continuous improvement of Cathay’s ESG analysis ability. Cathay purchased multiple international ESG databases to provide the investment team comprehensive ESG data and analytical information. Cathay also provides ESG investment analysis tools to support the investment team.


Equator Principles (EPs)

The “Equator Principles” (EPs) is an international risk management framework for financial industry. It categorises risks in large project finance based on their potential environmental and social impact and initiates varying levels of review for different categories. It requires lenders to include human rights and engagement mechanisms, establish an environmental and social management system, and establish action plans in accordance with risks disclosed in environmental assessments. These items are listed in credit contracts for compliance and execution. Banks shall implement continuous monitoring of project construction and operations after funding loans and regularly disclose information on the implementation status.

As of the end of 2019, more than 100 financial institutions from 38 countries have signed the Equator Principles and become Equator Principles Financial Institutions (EPFIs). Cathay United Bank (CUB) became the first EPFI in Taiwan in March 2015. As of the end of 2019, there are five EPFIs in Taiwan, which has more EPFIs than China (3 EPFIs) and trails only behind Spain, the Netherlands, Canada (each with 7 EPFIs) and the United Kingdom, France, Japan (each with 6 EPFIs), and is tied with the United States, Australia, Sweden, and Brazil. CUB’s EPs projects are most in Taiwan.

United Nations Principles for Responsible Banking (PRB)

After becoming the first EPFI bank in Taiwan, CUB announced its voluntary adoption of the United Nations Principles for Responsible Banking (PRB) in December 2018, and became the first PRB bank in Taiwan. CUB established a task force in early 2019 to inventory its core competencies and plan to gradually implement the six major PRB principles: “alignment, impact and target setting, clients and customers, stakeholders, governance and culture, and transparency and accountability”. Through the implementation of the aforementioned principles, the Bank will integrate its own business strategies with the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the Paris Agreement.


Cathay FHC investment and lending ESG integration procedures

Scope of Responsible Investment/Lending

The scope of Cathay’s responsible investment/lending merely excludes the assets (e.g., cash) which are not applicable for responsible investment approaches. Considering the characteristics of the assets, we apply different management policies such as exclusion, ESG integration, and themed investment for the different assets.

Investment and Lending Exclusion Policy of the Group

Cathay screens high-risk industries (e.g., controversial weapons and pornography) and countries (e.g., countries that severely violate human rights or are sanctioned) to define the exclusion list of the group. The Responsible Investment Working Group reviews the exclusion list every year.

 

IResponsible Lending and ESG Integration Management Mechanisms

Expanding the spirit of EPs for E&S (Environmental & Social) post-loan management

CUB follows EPs spirits for focus and management in the project planning and construction stage. For non-EPs loans for which credit limits reach a considerable scale and the purposes of whose funds meet the definition of sensitive industries such as mining/oil refining/metallurgy, hydro/oil-fired power generation, and forestry, CUB lending approval review process must include evaluation of the E&S impact of credit application cases, proposals of post-loan management solutions, and examination and management of follow-up E&S performance through regular E&S reviews.

ESG Regulations for Corporate Loans fully reject coal-fired power plants

Starting from 2017, CUB complies with its ESG Regulations for Corporate Loans in all of its corporate lending cases so that ESG risk management is included in all corporate loan screening, evaluation, and post-loan management. In 2018, CUB added coal-fired power plants with higher greenhouse gas emission to the list of ineligible borrowers (e.g., tobacco products and pornography). It also completely stopped new loans to any coal-fired power plants in October 2019 to demonstrate to customers CUB’s increased focus on environmental protection and corporate social responsibility and that they must improve their performance to obtain loans from financial institutions.

Establishing ESG risk guidelines for sensitive industries

In April 2018, CUB established ESG Guidelines targeting the power generation, paper, chemical materials, general manufacturing, mining and metal industries to further strengthen its ESG risk management mechanism. The Guidelines consider many ESG risks that industries faced in the different operation cycles such as the risks involving water resources, dust, and noise posed by the paper industry in the materials production period, production and processing period, and sales period. The Guidelines specify best-practice principles, provide customers with practical advice on mitigation, and help employees recognize ESG risks in KYC procedures.

 

019 ESG Integrated Mechanism Review and Control Outcomes

Project Financing EPs Review and Control

During 2019, a total of 2 applications reached financial close (1 project was classed as Category A and 1 projects as Category C), and were disclosed accordingly.

Corporate Loan ESG Review and Control

Among the total of 9,043 corporate loan applications reviewed and closed in 2019, 320 applications with ESG concerns (e.g., sensitive industry, pollution issues, and management integrity) were subject to approval with detailed reasons for granting or maintaining business relationships, and 1 were rejected because of Integrity issue of the owner. A total of 3,148 current credit reviews underwent ESG assessment, of which 88 cases exhibiting ESG-related concerns (such as pollution issues and management integrity) were documented with detailed reasons for maintaining business relationships and post-loan management.

 

Themed Investing

Cathay defined four types of themed investing to strengthen sustainable investment aiming to exercise our core competencies to help toward the sustainable society.

 


Feedback

Please let us know your precious opinions.

Contact US

Video

Happiness is how you think of what you have.

More

News Center

For more information, please visit our News Center.

More

責任投資與放貸是為社會帶來正向影響的穩定力量,同時亦是增進資產長期價值的核心能力之一,國泰制定責任投資/放貸政策與管理流程,並積極發展以ESG(Environment, Social, Governance)分析輔助投資放貸決策之能力,期望ESG為決策帶來更廣更深遠的視野。

 

建立領先台灣的責任投資/放貸團隊

國泰於2014年成立台灣首個責任投資小組,由金控投資長領軍,7位成員皆為子公司投資部門高階主管,負責監管整體集團責任投資策略、擬定政策。

國泰人壽及國泰投信則由前中後台投資部門組成責任投資工作小組,持續研究、與國際標竿交流責任投資相關趨勢、方法學及實務,以訂定具體執行方案,精進及完善ESG整合流程,國泰人壽與國泰投信分別有小組成員40名與11名,其中專責責任投資人員分別有2名與1名。

國泰世華銀行2016年設立永續金融授管科,負責評估EPs相關案件的環境社會風險,2017年更名為永續金融科,成為銀行內部推動整體企業永續與ESG相關風險管理的專責單位。

 

提供ESG教育訓練,強化ESG風險控管能力

2018年來隨著ESG資料庫導入、責任投資/放貸團隊的成立,國泰積極與外部產官學界交流,並請國外專家來台進行ESG分析教育訓練,2019年國泰金控、人壽、銀行、投信、產險共計656人次參與課程與外部研討會,每人次平均受訓時數達1.4小時。另外,提供赤道原則(EPs)專案融資管理規則及企業放貸ESG要點之整合訓練教材及課程,並不定期更新。


赤道原則(Equator Principles, EPs)

「赤道原則」是國際金融業風險管理框架,它將大型開發專案依潛在的環境社會影響程度作風險分類,針對不同級別開展對應程度的審查,要求借款業主依據環評揭示的風險,並納入人權及議合機制,建立環境及社會管理體系並訂定行動計畫,列為授信契約的事項,信守執行。銀行在撥貸後對專案建設和運營仍持續性監測,且對實施情況定期披露。

 

截至2019年底,來自38個國家超過100家金融機構已簽署赤道原則成為會員(EPFI)。國泰世華銀行於2015年3月簽署為臺灣首家EPFI,截至2019年底,台灣已有5家,超過中國大陸(3家),僅次於西班牙、荷蘭、加拿大(各7家)、英國、法國、日本(各6家),與美國、澳洲、瑞典、巴西並駕齊驅,國泰世華赤道案件數為台灣最高。

 

聯合國責任銀行原則(Principles for Responsible Banking, PRB)

繼成為臺灣首家赤道原則銀行後,國泰世華銀行於2018年12月宣布將自行遵循「聯合國責任銀行原則」(PRB),率先成為臺灣第一家PRB銀行,2019年初成立工作小組,盤點核心職能,進行規劃以逐步實踐PRB「一致性、影響及目標設定、客戶經營、利害關係人、公司治理及文化、透明及當責」等六大原則,通過履行上述原則的作為,銀行將使自身營運策略,與聯合國永續發展目標(SDGs)及巴黎協定等目標結合。

 


國泰責任投資/放貸流程

責任投資/放貸範疇

在國泰責任投資/放貸的資產範疇中,僅排除無法進行責任投資/放貸操作之資產(如:現金)。其餘考量各資產特性,適用不同管理政策,進行不可投資與放貸、ESG整合、主題投資等管理。

責集團不可投資與放貸政策

國泰篩選具高度風險的產業(如爭議性武器、色情)及國家(如重大違反人權或遭制裁國家),訂定全集團適用之不可投資/放貸名單,並由責任投資小組每年檢視。

 

責任放貸ESG整合管理機制

擴大EPs精神進行E&S (Environmental & Social)貸後管理

配合赤道原則在專案的規畫興建期之重視及管理,對非EPs授信案,當授信額度達顯著規模且資金用途符合礦業/煉油業/金屬煉製業、水力/燃油發電業、林業等特定敏感性產業定義者,國泰世華銀行審查核貸程序需評估客戶的E&S影響及提出貸後管理方案,並透過定期E&S覆審管理檢視貸後E&S績效。

 

企業放貸ESG要點全面拒絕承作燃煤發電

2017年起國泰世華銀行所有企金授信案件,都需遵循「企業放貸ESG要點」,使ESG風險管理納入所有企業授信的篩選評核與貸後期中管理。2018年國泰世華銀行的不予承作對象(如菸品、色情…),新增溫室氣體排放強度較高之燃煤發電廠,更於2019年10月起全面停止新承作任何燃煤發電融資授信案,使客戶明白國泰世華銀行日益重視環保與社會企業責任,經營上須精進才能取得金融機構的授信。

 

訂定敏感性產業之環境社會與公司治理風險指引

為深化ESG風險管理機制,國泰世華銀行於2018年4月對發電業、造紙業、化學材料業、一般製造業、礦業與金屬業等行業建立環境社會與公司治理風險指引,根據產業的不同運作週期所面對的諸多ESG風險,例如造紙業在原料生產期、製造加工期、銷售期等有水資源、粉塵、噪音等風險點,該指引以最佳實務作為出發點,提供客戶所需緩解做法的實務建議,也增進員工在展開客戶KYC時對ESG之風險認知。

 

2019年責任放貸ESG整合機制審核與控管成果

專案融資EPs審核與控管

2019年間達EP規範須揭露狀態(Financial Close-簽約可撥貸)共有2件,包含赤道風險分級A類1案與C 類1案。

 

企業授信ESG審核與控管

2019年全年企金授信案已結案件數共9,043件,因客戶涉及ESG要點檢核事項(如屬於敏感產業、汙染議題、誠信經營等),呈報擬敘明擬承作/維持往來理由的案量計320件,另因負責人誠信問題婉拒往來1件;現有案戶覆審總件數3,148件,發現涉及ESG檢核事項(如:汙染議題、誠信經營等),以文書敘明狀態,持續貸後管理計88件。

 

主題性投資/放款

國泰定義出四種永續主題性投資/放款,以加強投入於永續性投資標的,發揮核心職能,投資永續未來。


參與回饋

對國泰金控有什麼期待嗎?歡迎將您寶貴的意見告訴我們!

聯絡我們

影片

幸福不在於你擁有什麼,而在於你怎麼看待所擁有的。

了解更多

新聞中心

請至國泰金控新聞中心,了解更多訊息。

了解更多
  • 為提供您最佳個人化且即時的服務,本網站透過使用Cookies記錄與存取您的瀏覽使用訊息。當您使用本網站,即表示您同意Cookies技術支援。(更多資訊請參閱隱私權保護政策,如需修改Cookie設定請參閱第四點)。