The responsible investment and lending is a stabilizing force with positive impact on society, and it is also one of the core competencies to increase long-term value for the assets. Cathay has established responsible investment/lending policies and management procedures and actively developed its capacity for ESG analysis to assist investment and lending decisions. Cathay aims to use ESG to provide broader and more profound perspectives for decision-making.

 

Establish a leading responsible/lending team in Taiwan

Cathay FHC was the first Taiwanese financial institution establishing the Responsible Investment Working Group in 2014. The Working Group is led by the Chief Investment Officer of the Cathay FHC and comprises 7 members of senior executives from the investment teams of Cathay's subsidiaries. The working group is responsible for supervising Cathay FHC's responsible investment strategies, setting up policies, and reviewing implementation performance.

Cathay Life and Cathay SITE have also respectively established their Responsible Investment Task Force which comprises the front/mid/back-offices of the investment team. The task force continuously learns the best international practices, and exchanges ideas with global peers on trends, methodologies and practices in order to establish action plans to refine and improve the ESG integration process. As of the end of 2019, the task force of Cathay Life and Cathay SITE had around 45 and 12 members, in which 2 and 1 members are dedicated to responsible investment.

CUB established the Sustainable Finance Loan Management Section in 2016, which is responsible for reviewing EPs-related cases, and has renamed it as the Sustainable Finance Section in 2017. The Section is now the dedicated unit in charge of promoting corporate sustainability and ESG risks management within the bank.

 

Delivering ESG training to strengthen capability of ESG risks management

Cathay is active in its exchanges with external industrial, governmental and academic institutions and invited foreign experts to Taiwan for ESG analysis education and training. In addition, we also provided training materials for EPs project financing management regulations and ESG Regulations for Corporate Loans, which are updated on a non-periodic basis. In 2020, a total of 695 employees from Cathay FHC, Cathay Life, CUB, Cathay SITE, and Cathay Century participated in Cathay's courses as well as external conferences; the average training hours per participant was 0.94 hours.

 

Provide investment teams the ESG analysis tools to build comprehensive ESG Investment environment

Sufficient ESG information and data is the basis for strong ESG management. Cathay thus purchased access to several international ESG databases to provide teams with comprehensive ESG data and analysis information, and created related tools to provide teams with a comprehensive ESG investment environment.


Principles for Responsible Investment, PRI

Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) is an international framework launched by UN, requiring investors to integrate ESG into investing process. Cathay believes institutional investors have responsibility to exercise its positive influence to investee companies. Cathay was the first Taiwanese financial institution establishing the Responsible Investment Working Group in 2014. The Working Group is led by the Chief Investment Officer of the Cathay FHC and it works together with senior investment executives of subsidiaries. Cathay Life and Cathay SITE have also respectively established their Responsible Investment Task Force with total of 51 members and 3 dedicated employees. Cathay Life and Cathay SITE have voluntarily adopted PRI in 2015. The key results of Cathay’s responsible investment following the PRI principles are explained in the table below:


Cathay FHC investment and lending ESG integration procedures

 

Scope of Responsible Investment/Lending

The scope of Cathay’s responsible investment/lending merely excludes the assets (e.g., cash) that are not applicable for responsible investment/lending approaches. Considering the characteristics of the assets, we apply different policies such as exclusion, ESG integration, and themed investment to manage responsibly.

  

Investment and Lending Exclusion Policy of the Group

Cathay screens high-risk industries (e.g., controversial weapons and pornography) and countries (e.g., countries that severely violate human rights or are sanctioned) for the establishment of the Investment and Lending Exclusion Policy of the Group. The Responsible Investment Working Group reviews the l each year and subsidiaries can expand the list as required.

 

ESG Integration under Responsible Investment Management Mechanisms

Cathay incorporated ESG factors into existing investment procedures to manage the ESG risks. Cathay Life created the first ESG risk review procedures in Taiwan and established a watchlist of investment targets with potential ESG risks (e.g., low ESG ratings or sensitive industries). All new and existing investment targets must undergo review. Investment teams in Cathay Life have to include ESG assessment in their stock research reports. 833 reports have been done in 2020. Cathay SITE established the ESG research information system and regularly provides ESG investment portfolio analysis reports to help the investment team integrate ESG into investment procedures. Cathay United Bank established ESG risk review regulations for financial transactions and investment and incorporated ESG risks into the investment evaluation process.

Climate change has become one of the most important ESG issues. In order to understand the impact of climate change on equity investment, Cathay incorporated climate factors into the investment decision making process and took the lead in incorporating a backward-looking quantified approach and a forward-looking scenario simulation approach to manage the climate change risks and opportunities.

 

2020 results of ESG risk review for investee companies

Starting from 2020, Cathay Life has reviewed all listed equity and fixed income (non-corporate bonds & corporate bonds) and identified 240 cases in the escalation process with potential risks.

 

Themed Investing

Cathay defined five types of themed investing to strengthen sustainable investment aiming to exercise our core competencies to help toward the sustainable society.

Note 1: "-" means that the data were not collect for the current year.

Note 2: All the number is rounded to the nearest integer.

 

Impact Investing

In 2021, Cathay Life invested US$5 million for solutions for social inclusion and education, environmental resource requirements, and medical and quality of life issues.

 

Asset Manager Mandating and Monitoring

Cathay Life and Cathay Century have included ESG into consideration when signing contracts with mandate partners to ensure the companies fulfill their duties as asset managers. Of the mandate investment positions of Cathay Life and Cathay Century in 2020, 100% are managed by signatories to the PRI or local stewardship principles.

 


One of the key spirits of responsible investment is to engage investees and encourage them to pursue profit and growth with social and environmental sustainability. Cathay is an active participant in investor engagement actions with the aim of setting a benchmark for peers in Taiwan. Cathay has participated in multiple international organizations and initiatives since 2017, and has actively followed up on sustainability issues of critical importance to the international community, such as climate change. Cathay and global investors have jointly signed the Global Investor Statement to Governments on Climate Change to call on governments around the world to take carbon reduction actions in line with the Paris Climate Agreement. Besides, Cathay has established the engagement policy in 2018. We also identified "climate change" and "ESG Disclosure" as key engagement strategies in 2019, and initiated more intensified engagements with investee companies.

In 2020, Cathay Life engaged 79 companies directly on 14 material ESG issues in 127 cases through telephone meetings and in-person meetings. The main targets for engagement were companies in the "information technology" and "raw materials" industries, and the main communication issues were "adaptation to climate change" and "carbon emissions".

Note: The above numbers are rounded to the nearest whole number; thus, the sum-up is not 100%.

 

Asia Investor Group on Climate Change (AIGCC)

In 2016, Cathay became a founding member of the Asia Investor Group on Climate Change (AIGCC), as well as the only Taiwanese member. Cathay has received international recognition for its ESG achievements. Sophia Cheng, Chief Investment Officer of Cathay FHC, was appointed AIGCC Chair in 2018 to help the AIGCC increase awareness towards climate risks/opportunities among investors in Asia, and encourage them to take actions.

Cathay has actively participated in AIGCC activities over the years, and became part of three AIGCC working groups in 2020: Net Zero Investment, Engagement and Policy, and Physical Risks and Resilience, which will provide recommendations for related topics and study feasible tools and solutions.

In 2021, Cathay FHC participated in AIGCC’s Asian Utilities Engagement Program, engaging Asian utilities to set net zero goals.

Ceres Valuing Water Finance Task Force

Climate change has indirectly changed the water cycle and precipitation patterns in recent years. Taiwan has faced water shortage crises in recent years, which have affected the operations of certain industries that rely heavily on water resources.

Cathay Life and Cathay FHC joined the Ceres Valuing Water Finance Task Force in 2019 as the only participating financial institution in Taiwan. We obtained information on forecasts of global water resources and learned about the risks and opportunities of water resources in different sectors. The participation has helped Cathay ward off related risks and increased investment resilience when faced with challenges in water resources.

 

CDP Non-Disclosure Campaign

The CDP's "Non-Disclosure Campaign" invited investors to ask investees to  disclose environmental information. Cathay has participated in the initiative for four consecutive years since 2017 and was the only financial institution in Taiwan to have participated in the campaign. Cathay uses one-on-one communication to explain the material impact of climate change, forest, and water resource issues on companies and encourages them to disclose related data and management measures for investors to evaluate related risks

We engaged 43 companies in 2020. The response rate of companies engaged by Cathay was 19%, which was higher than the 12% response rate of companies without investor engagement. Cathay has significantly increased the response rate of companies.

Cathay has successfully engaged 25 companies since 2017 and 65% of the companies improved their CDP scores in the following year, which demonstrated the long-term positive impact of successful engagement.

Climate Action 100+

In 2017, Cathay Life and Cathay SITE became the only two financial institutions in Taiwan to participate in Climate Action 100+. Cathay actively participated in Asia activities and Sophia Cheng, Chief Investment Office, was invited as a member of Asia Advisory Group to provide recommendation for the initiatives’ strategy. The initiative involved engagement with 167 companies across the world with high carbon emissions and included at least two thirds of global greenhouse gas emissions. Cathay engaged in one-on-one communication with all Taiwanese companies (three companies in total). We visited the senior management of these companies and worked with international investors to jointly encourage companies to incorporate climate risks into their management strategies and explained investor expectations and carbon reduction actions adopted by their international competitors to the companies with the aim of encouraging companies to take carbon reduction actions in accordance with the Paris Climate Agreement. One of the companies engaged by Cathay committed itself in 2020 to attaining carbon neutrality in its value chain before 2050.

Cathay Sustainable Finance and Climate Change Summit

Cathay FHC has organized the Climate Change Forum in Taiwan for four consecutive years, as a method of encouraging investee enterprises to pay attention to climate change issues and take action. We invited former U.S. Vice President Al Gore in 2017 to discuss climate change issues with Taiwanese business leaders, and we also invited the international organization CDP and PwC in 2018 to inform companies about the practical management of climate change in the form of workshops. We worked with Taiwan Stock Exchange and AIGCC in 2019 to share information on international trends and industry benchmarks with Taiwanese companies.

In response to trends, Cathay worked with Taiwan Stock Exchange to incorporate sustainable financial issues and expanded the Summit in 2020. We invited business leaders, chief government officials of competent authorities on climate change, and sustainable finance experts from the academia to jointly discuss trends and practical experience. 293 people from 157 companies attended the event. The listed companies attendees accounted for 70% of the total market value of TWSE and 40% of Taiwan's total carbon emissions, which indicated it was an important event for promoting sustainable development in Taiwan.

 

Taiwan Stewardship Principles for Institutional Investors

Cathay FHC's subsidiaries, including Cathay Life, Cathay SITE, Cathay Century, CUB and Cathay Securities, have all signed the Taiwan Stewardship Principles for Institutional Investors. Cathay Life and Cathay SITE were selected as part of Taiwan Stock Exchange Corporation's "Recommendations for Disclosure Based on Stewardship Principles for Institutional Investors and Case Studies of Companies with Superior Disclosure" in 2021.

Cathay SITE received the 2020 Benchmark Stewardship Award and the "Best ESG Manager" and "Best ESG Engagement Initiative" in the 2021 Asia Asset Management. The international community has recognized its outstanding performance.

In 2020, Cathay attended a total of 1,256 shareholders' meetings and voted on 6,682 proposals. Cathay voted in favor of 6,373 proposals, against 62 proposals, and abstained from voting on 128 proposals (Note).

Cathay Life also communicates with the management team of investee companies in the forms of telephone conferences, forums, investor seminars, or attending shareholders' meetings. In 2020, a total of 6,189 delegates from Cathay Life, Cathay Century and Cathay SITE visited 1,675 companies.

 

For details on number of proposals and votes, please see:
Cathay Life
Cathay Century
Cathay SITE
Cathay United Bank
Cathay Securities 

 

For detailed information disclosure on voting and stewardship, refer to the stewardship website and reports of Cathay Life, Cathay United Bank, Cathay Century, Cathay Securities, and Cathay Securities Investment Trust.


PE Fund for Sustainable Industries

Cathay SITE became the first investment trust company in Taiwan approved to set up a subsidiary to issue private equity funds. 100% of the "Cathay Sustainable Private Equity Fund" is invested in key industries of sustainable development in Taiwan, including circular economy (e.g., sewage treatment and waste processing and reuse), renewable energy (e.g., solar energy, geothermal energy, hydropower, and energy storage), as well as the “5 + 2” innovative industries promoted by the government (e.g., Internet of Things, smart machinery, new agriculture, and long-term care). The promised investment totaled NT$8 billion and the fund has invested NT$4 billion in 2020. It has invested in 4 solar power plants, 1 wind farm, 2 waste disposal plants, and 1 IoT company.

 

Cathay MSCI Taiwan ESG Sustainability High Dividend Yield ETF

The ETF fund track MSCI Taiwan Select ESG Sustainability High Yield Top 30 Index. It select selects 30 stocks from the MSCI Taiwan Index which have high Dividend Yield, ESG Controversy Score greater than or equal to 3 and ESG Ratings equal to or better than ‘BB’. It provides investors a sustainable way to invest and stable profits.

 

Cathay Taiwan 5G PLUS ETF

5G applications are expanding rapidly across the globe. In addition, 5G will also play a crucial role in global sustainability solutions. Cathay launched the first ETF that targets high-tech stocks in the 5G industry in Taiwan and made use of Taiwan's advantages in key positions of the global 5G supply chain to help investors benefit from the growth brought forth by 5G. The ETF created multiple new records on Taiwan Stock Exchange after its IPO and its scale has expanded to NT$16.1 billion as of the end of 2020.

 

Cathay Securities ESG research reports for individual stocks

Cathay Securities ESG research reports for individual stocks are unique sell-side responsible investment products that are rare across the world. Cathay seeks to overcome the restriction of only using data from a

handful of large corporations in Taiwan for international ESG ratings. Cathay and National Taipei University thus worked together on using the SEED(Note) evaluation framework developed by the NTPU corporate sustainability development research team to establish a domestic ESG database for Taiwan. The ESG evaluation

items account for both local values and international standards and satisfy the demand of the capital market for ESG studies in Taiwan. Therefore, foreign and domestic institutional investors could acquire ESG reports of companies traded on Taiwan Stock Exchange they need. Cathay also hopes to cultivate Taiwan's first professional ESG analysis team for individual stocks through this cooperation and make use of its unique experience and advantages in the domestic market to provide investors with more ESG insights. This will help

increase the ESG analysis ability of Taiwanese industries and encourage Taiwanese companies to strengthen their ESG disclosure and management.


Feedback

Please let us know your precious opinions.

Contact US

Video

Happiness is how you think of what you have.

More

News Center

For more information, please visit our News Center.

More

國泰不斷強化ESG研究能力,其基礎之一是ESG資訊及數據,因此國泰購買多項國際級ESG資料庫,提供投資團隊完善ESG數據及分析資料,並建立相關工具,提供投資團隊完善ESG投資環境。

國泰深刻體認金融業於責任投資/授信所能帶動的影響力,早在2014年即成立台灣首個責任投資小組,負責監管整體集團責任投資策略、擬定相關政策。國泰人壽及國泰投信則由前中後台投資部門組成責任投資工作小組,持續研究國際最新責任投資相關趨勢、方法學及實務,並與國際標竿同業積極交流,以訂定具體執行方案,精進及完善ESG整合流程。

 

建立領先台灣的責任投資/放貸團隊

國泰於2014年成立台灣首個責任投資小組,由金控投資長領軍,7位成員皆為子公司投資部門高階主管,負責監管整體集團責任投資策略、擬定政策。

國泰人壽及國泰投信則由前中後台投資部門組成責任投資工作小組,持續研究、與國際標竿交流責任投資相關趨勢、方法學及實務,以訂定具體執行方案,精進及完善ESG整合流程,國泰人壽與國泰投信分別有小組成員45名與12名,其中專責責任投資人員分別有2名與1名。

國泰世華銀行2016年設立永續金融授管科,負責評估EPs相關案件的環境社會風險,2017年更名為永續金融科,成為銀行內部推動整體企業永續與ESG相關風險管理的專責單位。

 

提供ESG教育訓練,強化ESG風險控管能力

國泰積極與外部產官學界交流,每半年邀請國外專家來台進行ESG分析教育訓練,讓投資團隊掌握ESG最新趨勢及實務,以強化投資流程ESG風險控管能力。另外,國泰世華銀行提供赤道原則(EPs)專案融資管理規則及企業金融授信ESG規則之整合訓練教材及課程,並不定期更新。2020年國泰金控、人壽、銀行、投信、產險共計695人次參與課程與外部研討會,每人次平均受訓時數達0.94小時。

 

提供投資團隊ESG分析工具,建置完善ESG投資環境

執行扎實的責任投資/授信需要足夠的ESG資訊及數據支撐,為持續強化ESG管理能力,國泰購買多項國際級ESG資料庫,提供團隊完善ESG數據及分析資料,並建立相關工具,提供團隊優質的ESG投資/授信環境。


聯合國責任投資原則(Principles for Responsible Investment, PRI)

責任投資原則(PRI)為聯合國提出的國際框架,旨在要求機構投資人將ESG整合於投資流程中,國泰相信機構投資人有責任對金融市場及被投資公司產生正面影響力,2014年國泰設立責任投資小組為台灣首家成立之金融業者,小組由金控投資長領軍,與子公司投資高階主管共同合作,國泰人壽與國泰投信亦成立責任投資工作小組,目前已有51 位成員,且有3位專責成員,2015年起國泰人壽及國泰投信自行遵循PRI,下表對應PRI原則說明國泰責任投資重要成果:


國泰責任投資/放貸流程

 

責任投資/放貸範疇

在國泰責任投資/放貸的資產範疇中,僅排除無法進行責任投資/放貸操作之資產(如:現金)。此外,國泰考量各資產特性,採用不可投資、ESG整合、主題投資等不同政策以徹底落實管理程度。

  

集團不可投資與放貸政策

國泰篩選具高度風險的產業(如爭議性武器、色情)及國家(如重大違反人權或遭制裁國家),訂定全集團適用之不可投資/放貸名單,並由責任投資小組每年檢視,子公司則可依需求自行擴增。

 

責任投資ESG整合管理機制

國泰將ESG因子納入既有投資流程,以確實控管ESG風險,國泰人壽更是台灣首家壽險業者建立ESG風險審核程序,針對具潛在ESG風險(ESG評等差、敏感性產業)之投資標的建立關注名單,新增及既有投資標的皆須檢視是否為關注名單,並進行ESG評估審核。此外,投資同仁在出具個股研究報告時,亦納入ESG評估內容,2020年共計833件。國泰投信自建ESG研究資訊系統,定期提供ESG投資組合分析報告,協助投資團隊將ESG整合至投資流程中;國泰世華亦制訂金融交易及投資ESG風險審核規則,將ESG相關風險納入投資評估流程。

此外,氣候變遷為最重要的ESG議題之一,為了解氣候變遷對投資標的影響,除已將氣候因子整合在投資決策流程裡外,國泰亦率先結合回溯(backward looking)量化方式及前瞻(forward looking)情境模擬方式,掌握投資組合氣候變遷風險與機會並完善管理。

 

2020年投資標的ESG風險審核成果

2020年國泰人壽檢視全部上市櫃股權投資標的(Listed Equity)、公司債及金融債之投資標的(Fixed Income: Non-corporate Bond & Corporate Bond),其中具潛在風險提報討論案件共計240件。

 

主題性投資/放款

國泰定義出五種永續主題性投資/放款,以加強投入於永續性投資標的,發揮核心職能,投資永續未來。

 

影響力投資

2021年國泰人壽更進一步進行影響力投資(impact investing),期以解決社會融合與教育、環境資源需求、醫療與生活品質等社會環境議題,總投資金額達500萬美元。

 

 

要求委外單位履行責任投資及盡職治理

為確保全權委託之資產管理公司善盡資產管理人(Asset Manager) 之責,國泰人壽及國泰產險與委外單位簽訂合約時,皆已納入責任投資考量。2020年國泰人壽與國泰產險所全權委託之部位100%受簽署PRI或地方性盡職治理守則之委外單位管。

 


責任投資的重要精神之一,是透過與被投資公司對話,期許企業在追求獲利成長的同時,也追求社會環境永續,因此國泰積極投入投資議合行動,期許成為台灣投資議合行動的領導者。國泰自2017年起即參加多項國際組織及倡議活動,積極跟進國際社會極為重視的永續議題,如:氣候變遷。國泰與全球投資人共同簽署Global Investor Statement to Governments on Climate Change,呼籲各國政府減碳行動符合巴黎氣候協定目標。此外,國泰於2018年訂定議合政策,並於2019年確立議合策略主軸為「氣候變遷」及「ESG揭露」,以對被投資公司進行更深入的議合。

2020年國泰人壽透過電話、會議等一對一個別議合方式與79家企業進行個別議合,針對14ESG重大性議題累計127項次溝通,主要議合對象為「資訊技術」及「原材料」產業之企業、主要溝通議題為「氣候變化調適」及「碳排放」。

註:因四捨五入加總不等於100%

 

亞洲投資人氣候變遷聯盟(AIGCC)

國泰自2016年加入AIGCC,為其創始會員,也是唯一的台灣會員。國泰在ESG的作為受國際認可,國泰金控程淑芬投資長自2018年起受邀擔任AIGCC主席,協助AIGCC提倡亞洲投資人強化對氣候風險/機會的認知及行動。國泰多年來積極參與聯盟各項活動,2020年進一步參與AIGCC所成立的三個工作小組:淨零碳排投資(Net Zero Investment)、議合及政策(Engagement and Policy)及實體風險與韌性(Physical risks and Resilience),將針對相關議題提供建議,並研究可行工具及解決方案。

2021年國泰金控參加AIGCC「亞洲電廠議合倡議」,議合亞洲電廠設定淨零碳排目標。

Ceres Valuing Water Finance Task Force

近年氣候變遷已間接改變水循環和降水模式,使水資源亦成為當今世界面臨的重大課題之一,台灣近年來也面臨缺水危機,造成極度仰賴水資源的部分產業營運受到影響,有鑑於此,國泰金控與國泰人壽超前部署,於2020年參與Ceres Valuing Water Finance Task Force,成為台灣唯一參加的金融機構,期能透過提前掌握全球水資源前瞻性趨勢、了解各產業水資源風險與機會,使國泰在面臨水資源挑戰時,及早防禦相關風險並提高投資韌性。

 

CDP Non-Disclosure Campaign

CDPNon-Disclosure Campaign」議合倡議活動透過投資人的力量敦促企業揭露環境資訊,國泰自2017年以來,連續四年參加該倡議活動,是台灣唯一參加該倡議的金融機構,國泰透過一對一個別聯繫向企業說明氣候變遷、森林、水資源議題對企業營運的重大影響,鼓勵其揭露相關數據及管理措施,以便投資人評估相關風險。

2020年共議合43家企業,議合成功率為19%,相較未有投資人議合的企業CDP回覆率僅12%,國泰顯著提升企業回覆意願。

2017年以來,國泰已累計成功議合25家企業,且企業隔年CDP成績進步的比率高達65%,顯示議合成功能帶來長期正面的影響。

Climate Action 100+

國泰人壽與國泰投信自2017年起參加「Climate Action 100+」倡議活動,是台灣唯二參加的金融機構。國泰積極投入Climate Action 100+亞洲區活動,國泰金控程淑芬投資長自2019年起受邀擔任Climate Action 100+ 亞洲顧問團 (Asia Advisory Group)成員,為該倡議活動的策略規劃提供建議。

此倡議活動針對全球167家高排碳企業進行議合(佔全球至少三分之二的溫室氣體排放),國泰與所有台灣企業(共三家)一對一溝通,直接拜訪企業高層,與國際投資人合作共同敦促企業將氣候風險納入管理策略中,並向企業說明投資人期待及其國際同業減碳作為,並集結國際投資人的力量,呼籲企業依據巴黎氣候協定進行減碳行動。2020年,國泰議合的其中一家企業已宣布將在2050年前達到價值鏈淨零碳排。

 

永續金融與氣候變遷高峰論壇

為鼓勵被投資企業關心氣候變遷議題採取行動,國泰連續四年舉辦氣候變遷論壇,2017年邀請到美國前副總統高爾Al Gore,與台灣企業領導人探討氣候變遷議題;2018年邀請到國際組織CDP以及資誠聯合會計師事務所(PwC),以工作坊形式讓企業更深入了解實務做法;2019年則與證交所及AIGCC合作,將

國際趨勢及產業標竿的經驗帶給台灣企業。2020年因應趨勢,與證交所合作納入永續金融議題擴大舉辦,邀請產業界董總級領袖、政府氣候政策主管機關領導者、永續金融學術界重量級貴賓,共同討論趨勢及實務經驗,當天參與人數達293人、企業數達157家,參與之上市櫃公司佔台灣總市值70%、台灣總碳排40%,是推動台灣永續發展的重要盛會。

論壇三分鐘精華影片

 

機構投資人盡職治理守則

國泰金控旗下人壽、投信、產險、銀行、證券皆已簽署機構投資人盡職治理守則。國泰人壽與國泰投信並獲選證交所2021年「機構投資人盡職治理資訊揭露建議與較佳揭露案例」。

國泰的盡職治理作為亦深受國際肯定,國泰投信榮獲2020 BENCHMARK《指標》盡職治理大獎、2021 Asia Asset Management《亞洲資產管理》「台灣最佳ESG經理人」及「台灣最佳ESG參與倡議」,盡職治理作為受國際肯定。

2020年總計出席1,256家股東會、總計表決6,682項議案,其中6,373案為贊成、62案反對、128案棄權()

此外,國泰亦透過電話會議、座談會,參與法說會或及派員參加股東會等方式,與被投資公司經營階層溝通,2020年國泰人壽、國泰產險及國泰投信同仁總共6,189次參與,總共拜訪1,675家公司。

詳細投票及盡職治理作為揭露請見國泰人壽、國泰世華銀行、國泰產險、國泰證券及國泰投信盡職治理網站及報告。

 

詳細議案數與投票狀況
國泰人壽

國泰產險

國泰投信

國泰世華銀行

國泰證券

註:保險法第146-1條,保險業不得行使國內被投資公司董事、監察人選舉之表決權,故相關董監事選任之議案採棄權方式處理。

 

永續產業私募基金

國泰投信為國內第一家獲准設立子公司發行私募股權基金之投信公司。「國泰永續私募股權基金」100%投資台灣永續發展關鍵產業,包括循環經濟(如汙水處理、廢棄物處理再利用)、再生能源(如太陽能、地熱、水力、儲能)等,以及政府推動的5+2創新產業(如物聯網、智慧機械、長照、新農業)等亮點產業,總承諾出資額新台幣80億元,2020年基金總投入金額為40億元。目前投資4個太陽能案場、1個風電案場、2個循環經濟產業、1個物聯網產業。

 

國泰台灣ESG永續高股息ETF基金

ESG是衡量企業長期經營品質的指標,2020年疫情危機更凸顯企業照顧員工及供應鏈管理的重要性,國泰投信與MSCI合作,讓投資人有機會藉國際級ESG服務進行永續投資,並運用股息殖利率加權排序選股,幫助投資人穩健獲利,符合投資人需求,IPO後創下台股多項紀錄,截至2020年底規模達166億元。

 

國泰投信5G+ ETF基金 Cathay Taiwan 5G PLUS ETF

全球5G正迅速發展,同時,5G也將在全球永續解決方案扮演關鍵角色,國泰推出台灣第一檔100%鎖定台灣5G科技股的ETF,利用台灣在全球5G供應鏈中佔關鍵地位的優勢,讓投資人參與5G將帶來的成長,IPO後亦突破台股多項紀錄,截至2020年底規模達161億元。

 

國泰證券個股ESG研究報告

國泰證券個股ESG研究報告為國際少見的Sell-side責任投資商品,為突破國際ESG評級研究資料侷限在台灣部分大型企業的限制,國泰與臺北大學合作,運用北大企業永續發展研究團隊獨家研發SEED註評比架構,建置台灣ESG本土資料庫,其ESG評比項目兼顧本土化及接軌國際,滿足資本市場對台灣ESG研究的需求,填補外資或是本土法人在台股ESG報告的需求缺口。藉由此項合作,國泰也希望培育本土第一個專業的個股ESG分析團隊,利用本土市場經驗優勢,提供投資人更多ESG洞見,有助於增進台灣產業ESG分析能力,並促進台灣企業強化ESG揭露及管理。


參與回饋

對國泰金控有什麼期待嗎?歡迎將您寶貴的意見告訴我們!

聯絡我們

影片

幸福不在於你擁有什麼,而在於你怎麼看待所擁有的。

了解更多

新聞中心

請至國泰金控新聞中心,了解更多訊息。

了解更多
  • 為提供您最佳個人化且即時的服務,本網站透過使用Cookies記錄與存取您的瀏覽使用訊息。當您使用本網站,即表示您同意Cookies技術支援。(更多資訊請參閱隱私權保護政策,如需修改Cookie設定請參閱第四點)。