Climate Changes and Cathay’s Response

Cathay FHC began responding to the CDP questionnaire in 2012, and signed the TCFD in 2018. We established a group-level TCFD task force and cooperated with secretariat under CS Committee to actively manage carbon issues and major energy and environment projects. We were rated at the “leadership level” (A-) in the 2019 CDP questionnaire and became a leading financial institution in the field of climate and environment. Besides, our subsidiaries. We referenced the disclosure framework recommended by the TCFD, and includes governance, strategy, risk management, metrics and targets, and key performance.

Cathay FHC has comprehensive climate and environmental governance processes and frameworks. The president is the highest level leader and oversees the measures of Cathay FHC and its subsidiaries. The secretariat under CS Committee and TCFD task force work together and periodically submit supervision results to the Board of Directors. the Corporate Sustainability Committee formulates adaptation and itigation measures through the identification and evaluation of risks, which is the basis for forming the climate strategy that will enable us to seize opportunities, assisting Cathay FHC and its subsidiaries in developing low carbon businesses.

The Chief Risk Officer (CRO) leads the cross-company TCFD task force, which manages the effect of climate-related risks on real estate , negotiable securities, corporate loans, and insurance product .The TCFD task force reports the supervision situation to the CRO each month, and submits annual reports to the Risk Management Committee and Board of Directors. This strengthens our climate-related risk management and allows risks to be quantified according to stakeholders’ requirements.

 

Climate and Environmental Strategies

Cathay FHC analyzed and identified short-term, mid-term, and long-term risks and opportunities in its daily perations and financial business, and assessed the effect of different risks, such as physical risks, market risks, or regulatory risks, on its business.

In 2017, Cathay began building the climate risk and opportunity matrix as basis for scenario analysis and improving climate strategies. The most significant short-term and mid-term risks that were identified include the physical risk of typhoons and temperature change, which can damage renewable energy facilities that we invest in. Long-term risks include the pressure on financial product and service transformation brought by the trend of a low-carbon economy that seeks to restrict global temperature rise within 2ºC.

Scenario Analysis on Operation

Cathay FHC and its subsidiaries all implemented ISO 50001 and ISO 14001 Energy and Environmental Management Systems in daily operations. We assessed operational risks based on the plan to achieve 20% renewable energy generation by 2025 announced by Taiwan’s government, as well as the goal of the Paris Agreement for temperature rise to not exceed 2 degrees Celsius. Methods such as increasing the ratio of renewable energy use to slow temperature rise create the risk of electricity price fluctuations. From a long-term perspective, this will impact our operating costs and require us to formulate strategies.

Scenario Analysis on Real Estate and Mortgages

Cathay FHC and its consultants simulated scenarios to evaluate the risk of position of real estate and mortgages. We evaluated the short-term and long-term financial impact of physical risks on real estate caused by typhoons and floods within the near future (~2035) as defined in the IPCC AR5, and determined that overall risk was non-material. Results also showed that typhoons and floods only cause minimal damage to collateral, and will not trigger defaults on mortgages. Furthermore, the group adopted risks by purchasing insurance to lower the financial impact of typhoons and floods on the group.


Climate and Environmental Risk Management

Cathay FHC uses the ERM framework to include emerging risks, such as climate-related risks, in its risk management policy, and established the Emerging Risk Management Guidelines. On financial business, TCFD task force identify and assess risks and opportunities, and have formulated management principles within business processes. Related measures are as follows:

Energy and Building Management

Cathay FHC established the Environment and Energy Management Committee and Cathay FHC Group Environment and Energy Policy in 2017 to manage its natural capital. The President offers guidance on related operations and periodically convenes meetings on energy and environmental management to supervise policy implementation. Furthermore, Cathay FHC and all of its subsidiaries implemented both the ISO 14001 Environmental Management System and ISO 50001 Energy Management System, and integrated management goals with GHG emission reduction goals. Of related environmental goals, our GHG reduction goal is to reduce GHG emissions, that with 2016 as the base year, we reduce total carbon emissions by 5-10% in 2021.

Cathay Life and CUB focus on renewable energy use and increasing energy efficiency in reducing the group's carbon emission. The real estate management department takes a rolling inventory of equipment to increase energy efficiency, examining the service life and energy consumption of equipment to determine what equipment to replace. Equipment replaced in 2019 are as follows:

In addition to the continued replacement of energy-consuming equipment, in 2019 Cathay Life began using the solar panels (183 kW) installed on the roof of its Education Building in Wuri, Taichung, the largest solar rooftop in the financial industry that generates electricity for self-use. The solar panels are expected to generate about 200,000 kWh of electricity a year. The Pingtung Branch of CUB installed solar panels on its roof. The solar panels not only shade the branch from the sun, but also generate electricity for the branch, creating long-term benefits. Furthermore, Cathay began evaluating and installing solar panels on its own buildings in 2016. The current installed capacity exceeds 5,600 kW and actual electricity generation has exceeded 6 million kWh.

Cathay Life established the Responsible Property Investment and Management Policy, and designs all newly acquired buildings based on green building standards, so that energy use, greening, and waste all reach a certain standard. Two buildings obtained green building certificates this year, specifically the Education Building in Wuri, Taichung (LEED Gold Certification) and Industry Building at Taoyuan THSR Station (EEWH Certificate). At present, Cathay has a total of 15 green buildings and continues to promote sustainable cities.

Metrics and Targets

Cathay FHC set the goals on GHG emissions electricity consumption and keep track of the indicators through the Environment and Energy Management System. All the metrics reach the target, among which the carbon emission even reduced up to 4.96% compared with base year. We also set the goal to use at least 250,000 kWh of renewable energy in 2020.


Feedback

Please let us know your precious opinions.

Contact US

Video

Happiness is how you think of what you have.

More

News Center

For more information, please visit our News Center.

More

氣候變遷風險與因應

國泰金控自2012年起回覆C D P 問卷,2018年簽署TCFD倡議,成立跨集團TCFD工作小組並與企業永續委員會的秘書單位合作,積極管理碳議題、能源及環境上重大項目。2019年CDP問卷評比躍進為「領導等級」(A-),為金融業氣候環境領域佼佼者。並參酌TCFD建議揭露架構進行揭露,包含治理、策略、風險管理、指標及目標與重點績效。

國泰金控擁有完善的氣候及環境治理流程及架構,總經理為最高領導者, 監管金控暨旗下子公司作為, 由TCFD工作小組及企業永續委員會下的秘書單位共同合作,定期呈報監管成果予董事會。企業永續委員會透過風險辨識及估評,擬定調適及減緩措施,進而形塑氣候策略以掌握機會,協助國泰金控暨旗下子公司的低碳業務發展。

為強化氣候相關風險管理及符合利害關係人要求進行風險量化,由風控長領導跨公司之TCFD工作小組,管理氣候相關風險對不動產、有價證券、企業授信及保險商品的影響,每月向風控長報告監管情形,每年呈報風管委員會及董事會。

 

氣候與環境策略

國泰金控針對日常營運及金融業務進行短中長期風險辨識及分析,同時考量不同面向風險對業務產生之影響,如實體風險、市場風險或法規變動風險等進行評估。

 

營運上的情境模擬

在日常營運上, 國泰金控暨旗下子公司皆導入ISO50001及ISO14001能源與環境管理系統,並參考台灣政府公布之再生能源發電量2025年達20%的規劃,與結合《巴黎協定》升溫不超過2度C的目標,進行營運上的風險評估。作法上,如提高再生能源使用比例以減緩升溫程度,然而此將對國泰產生電費價格波動之風險,長期而言將衝擊營運成本,國泰將對此擬定策略。

不動產及房貸情境模擬

針對不動產項目,國泰金控與顧問單位合作,進行情境模擬,評估帳上既有不動產及房貸擔保品,在IPCC AR5資料所定義近未來(~2035年)區間,颱風洪水對自有不動產所產生的實體風險在財務上的影響經整體評估為非重大風險;而房貸結果顯示颱風洪水造成之擔保品損耗甚微,不構成觸發房貸違約因子。此外,為降低颱風洪水所帶來財務衝擊,集團挑選重點不動產資產,投保保險因應風險。


氣候風險管理

國泰金控利用企業風險管理架構將氣候相關風險等新興風險納入風險管理政策,並訂有新興風險管理準則,在金融業務上由TCFD工作小組辨識及評估相關風險及機會,結合業務流程擬訂管理方針。作為如下:

能源與建築管理

國泰金控為落實自然資源資本的管理,自2017年起成立環境及能源管理委員會,訂定《國泰金控集團環境及能源政策》由總經理指導並定期召開能源與環境管理會議監管政策執行狀況, 且國泰金控及所有子公司皆導入「ISO 14001環境管理系統」、「ISO 50001能源管理系統」,更將管理目標與溫室氣體減量目標結合。設定出溫室氣體減量目標為以2016年為基礎年,至2021年減量5~10%。

國泰人壽及國泰世華銀行將再生能源使用及提高能源效率作為集團減碳的重點工作,在提高能源效率部分,不動產管理部門透過設備「滾動式盤點」,檢視設備使用年限、能耗狀況等因素進行汰換,於2019年汰換設備如下:

除了持續汰換重大能耗設備, 國泰人壽2019年啟用的台中烏日教育大樓為金融業最大「自發自用」的屋頂太陽能發電板(183kw),並將太陽能板所發電量「自發自用」一年預估可發約20萬度電;另國泰世華銀行啟用的屏東分行,在分行屋頂架設太陽能板,除了避免直接曝曬,更可以 「自發自用」供據點營運使用,創造長期正向效益。此外國泰自2016年開始在自有建物上評估與設置太陽能板,目前累計裝置容量更超過5,600kW,實際發電超過6百萬度電。

國泰人壽訂有不動產責任投資與管理政策, 新取得建物皆以綠建築標準進行設計,在能源使用、綠化量、廢棄物等指標皆達一定水準,今年新增取得2棟綠建築認證,分別為台中烏日自用教育大樓(L E E D黃金級)及桃園高鐵車站產專大樓(綠建築銅級),目前合計有15棟綠建築,持續推動永續城市。

指標與目標

國泰金控透過能源與環境管理系統設定目標並管理, 碳排放量及用電皆達所設目標,其中類別一、二碳排放放量相比基礎年減量近4.96%。另外,亦設定再生能源使用目標,2020年目標為至少25萬度再生能源。


參與回饋

對國泰金控有什麼期待嗎?歡迎將您寶貴的意見告訴我們!

聯絡我們

影片

幸福不在於你擁有什麼,而在於你怎麼看待所擁有的。

了解更多

新聞中心

請至國泰金控新聞中心,了解更多訊息。

了解更多
  • 為提供您最佳個人化且即時的服務,本網站透過使用Cookies記錄與存取您的瀏覽使用訊息。當您使用本網站,即表示您同意Cookies技術支援。(更多資訊請參閱隱私權保護政策,如需修改Cookie設定請參閱第四點)。