Climate Changes and Cathay’s Response

As a global citizen, Cathay FHC continues to keep abreast with international trends in sustainable development and became a CDP signatory in 2012. Cathay FHC went on to sign the CDP Water Disclosure Program Forest Footprint Disclosure Program Commit to responsible corporate engagement in climate policy and Commit to implement the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate related Financial Disclosures. We became the only company in Taiwan to participate in the CDP Non-discloser Engagement Campaign in 2017 to encourage companies response to CDP. Our subsidiaries Cathay Life and Cathay SITE became the only two financial institutions in Taiwan to participate in Climate Action 100+, engaging with 100 of the world's largest corporate greenhouse gas emitters to establish mechanism managing climate change and disclose relating information.

Understanding climate risks and opportunities will help the transformation of financial institutions and drive the development of a low-carbon economy. The Financial Stability Board (FSB) established the Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) and announced the Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, which provided best practices for climate-related financial disclosures. Cathay FHC has actively participated in various green initiatives over the years. Cathay FHC adopted the TCFD in 2017 to strengthen disclosures of climate-related risks and opportunities.

 

 

In 2017, Cathay began building the climate risk and opportunity matrix as basis for scenario analysis and improving climate strategies. The most significant short-term and mid-term risks that were identified include the physical risk of typhoons and temperature change, which can damage renewable energy facilities that we invest in. Long-term risks include the pressure on financial product and service transformation brought by the trend of a low-carbon economy that seeks to restrict global temperature rise within 2ºC.

 

 

Pioneer in Green Finance

 

Environmental issues once again became the greatest concern to experts around the world according to the Global Risks Report 2018 issued by the WEF. As environmental risks continue to increase, the development of renewable energy is a key step we must take to respond to the risk of climate change. The World Energy Outlook 2017 issued by the International Energy Agency (IEA) expects renewable energy to surpass coal-fired power generation in 2020 and that renewable energy will account for 40% of global power generation by 2040. Cathay FHC is the number one brand in green finance and actively supports green energy development in hopes of achieving mutual prosperity for both the environment and the economy.



Green Operation

Cathay FHC established "the Environment and Energy Policy" as the guiding principles for the maintenance of natural resource capital. Cathay FHC adequately manages its direct effect on the environment by comprehensively adopting the ISO 14001 Environmental Management System and ISO 50001 Energy Management System. For the two ISO systems, Chang-Ken Lee, Director and President of Cathay FHC, is the top management representative and our GHG emission reduction goal is aligned with the goal for ISO 50001. Moreover, we strengthen the sustainable operation of our suppliers and have been awarded for embracing green procurement by Taipei City Government for eight years, with the amount of green procurement exceeded 470 million in 2017.

 

 

Green Initiatives

1. Coastal adoption program: Cathay hopes to preserve the environment through rising citizens' awareness of environmental protection. We began engaging the public in caring for the ocean in 2017, adopted three beaches in Miaoli Longfeng, Chiayi Budai, and Pingdong Donggang, and also invited local organizations, schools, customers, and suppliers to join us in beach cleaning; a total of 10 beach clean-ups were organized that year at which we and our partners cleaned over 1,200 kg of trash; the event achieved ISO 20121 Event Sustainability Management Systems certification.

2. Environmental Education: In order to strengthen the knowledge of environmental protection, Cathay sets up energy-saving personnel and holds environmental education lectures quarterly for energy-saving personnel from all over the group. In addition, Cathay Life Insurance also organized energy-saving workshop for staff training. Moreover, Cathay Life providing student group insurance in the 2017 academic year, thereby Cathay Life furthermore worked together with the K-12 Education Administration in organizing energy conservation and carbon reduction lectures to raise students' awareness of sustainability. Energy conservation and carbon reduction lectures are given by professional lecturers from the Society of Wilderness, and environmental protection measures are explained using the APP "Save earth" jointly developed by Cathay Life and Professor Hou Huei-Tse at the National Taiwan University of Science and Technology.

 

Feedback

Please let us know your precious opinions.

Contact US

Video

Happiness is how you think of what you have.

More

News Center

For more information, please visit our News Center.

More
Feedback

氣候變遷風險與因應

國泰金控身為地球公民,持續與國際永續發展趨勢看齊,2012年即成為CDP之簽署人, 並於2015年簽署支持CDP水資源及森林資源兩項專案,與「將承擔責任參與氣候政策的議合」及「遵循氣候變遷財務相關揭露(TCFD)」兩項承諾。2017年成為台灣唯一參與「CDP未回覆企業議合倡議」的企業,鼓勵企業參與CDP問卷揭露相關資訊。子公司國泰人壽及國泰投信則為台灣唯二參與Climate Action 100+ 國際倡議活動的金融機構,與全世界100 家最大溫室氣體排放企業溝通,要求企業建置氣候變遷相關治理機制並公開揭露資訊。

瞭解氣候風險和機會將幫助金融機構轉型並促進低碳經濟發展,國際金融穩定委員會(Financial Stability Board, FSB) 成立氣候相關財務揭露專案小組(Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, TCFD),並公布了《氣候相關財務揭露建議書》,作為企業氣候相關財務揭露的最佳實務指引。國泰金控長期注重環境永續議題,積極參與各種環境倡議,於2017年開始採行TCFD以強化氣候相關風險及機會揭露。

 


 

綠色金融先鋒

根據世界經濟論壇(WEF)《2018 年全球風險報告》,「環境問題」持續為全球專家們最大的擔憂。環境風險不斷加劇,發展再生能源將成為因應氣候變遷風險的關鍵一步,國際能源署(IEA)《2017 世界能源展望報告》指出到2020 年,再生能源發電量將超過煤炭發電;到2040 年,再生能源占全球總發電比率將達到40%。國泰金控作為綠色金融第一品牌,積極支持綠色能源發展,期待創造環境與經濟共榮。



綠色營運

國泰金控訂定「環境及能源政策」,作為公司維護自然資源資本的指導原則,並透過全面導入「ISO 14001環境管理系統」及「ISO 50001能源管理系統」,由國泰金控董事兼總經理李長庚擔任最高管理階層,就管理系統負責,同時將ISO 50001能源管理系統目標與公司的溫室氣體減量目標結合,以妥善管理公司營運對環境的直接影響。此外,我們同時強化對供應商的永續經營,已連續8年(2010~2017)獲得台北市政府環保局「綠色採購績優企業」表揚,2017年綠色採購金額逾4.7 億。

 

綠色倡議

1. 海岸認養計畫:國泰希望藉著公民環保意識的抬頭,共同落維護自然環境,2017年起集合自身及大眾之力愛護海洋,協助認養苗栗龍鳳、嘉義布袋、屏東東港三處海灘,並邀請地方團體、學校、客戶及供應商,一同淨灘,全年總計舉辦10 場活動,清除逾1,200公斤垃圾,並取得ISO 20121 永續性活動管理系統認證。

2. 環境教育:為強化同仁環境保護之知能,國泰金控暨子公司除設置節能專責人員外,並每季由國壽舉辦環境教育講座,招集全集團之節能專責人員參加。此外,國泰人壽更舉辦節能工作坊員工教育訓練活動,並既承接106學年度學生團體保險,攜手教育部國教署,於全台巡迴舉辦節能減碳講座,由荒野保護協會專業講師主講,搭配國壽與台科大侯惠澤教授共同研發之「拯救地球大作戰App」遊戲,深入淺出講授環保作法。

 

參與回饋

對國泰金控有什麼期待嗎?歡迎將您寶貴的意見告訴我們!

聯絡我們

影片

幸福不在於你擁有什麼,而在於你怎麼看待所擁有的。

了解更多

新聞中心

請至國泰金控新聞中心,了解更多訊息。

了解更多
意見回饋